DRAFT Whatcom Council of Governments Board Minutes January 15, 2025

In Attendance (In person or via Zoom):

Members *Voting:* **Bellingham:** Michael Lilliquist, Skip Williams; **Blaine:** Richard May;

Ferndale: Greg Hansen (Secretary/Treasurer); Lake Whatcom Water & Sewer District: Jeff Knakal; Lynden: Scott Korthuis (Chair); City of Nooksack: Kevin

Hester; Port of Bellingham; Bobby Briscoe; Whatcom County: Kaylee

Galloway, Jon Scanlon.

Guests Whatcom Transportation Authority: Les Reardanz.

Staff Hugh Conroy, Ron Cubellis, Melissa Fanucci.

A. Call to Order

Mr. Conroy determined that a quorum was present, and Chair Korthuis called the meeting to order at 3:08p.m.

B. Public Comment

None

C. Agenda Additions

None

D. Consent Agenda

The Consent Agenda included the minutes of the meeting of December 11, 2024, and December 2024 claims. **Motion**: Mr. Lilliquist moved, seconded by Mr. Hester, to approve. **Motion passed** with none opposed.

E. Approval of Proposed 2025 Meeting Calendar

Noting the addition of an Executive Committee meeting on March 12, 2025, Mr. Korthuis asked for a motion to approve the 2025 meeting calendar as presented. **Motion:** Mr. Lilliquist moved to approve, seconded by Mr. Sidhu. **Motion passed** with none opposed.

E. **Budget Report**

Mr. Cubellis reported on budget report for the period ending December 31, 2024.

F. Old Business

None

G. New Business

1. Appointment of three small-city representatives to the Executive Committee. Chair Korthuis opened the item noting that he was willing to continue as one of the small city representatives but solicited interest from others. Misters Hansen and Hester, the other two current small cities reps also confirmed their willingness to continue. No other small-city board members indicated an interest. . Motion: Mr. Lilliquist, seconded by Mr. Bosch, moved to elect Misters Korthuis, Hansen, and Hester as the

- small-cities representatives to the Executive Committee. **Motion passed** with none opposed.
- 2. Election of chair, vice chair, and secretary/treasurer. Mr. Korthuis opened the item noting that he was happy to continue as chair but invited interest from the rest of the board. Mr. Lilliquist said he was happy to continue serving as vice chair. Mr. Hansen said that he was happy to continue as secretary/treasurer. No other board members announced interest. Motion: Mr. Korthuis, seconded by Mr. Bosch, moved to elect Misters Korthuis, Lilliquist, and Hansen to the roles of chair, vice chair, and secretary/treasurer respectively. Motion passed with none opposed
- Consideration of adoption of WCOG's 2025 cost allocation plan. Mr. Cubellis introduced the item, referring to the memo and draft plan in the packet.
 Motion: Mr. Williams, seconded by Mr. Hester, moved to approve the 2025 Cost Allocation Plan as presented. Motion passed with none opposed.
- 4. <u>Discussion of amending the Council Board Bylaws to modifying the duties of the Executive Committee</u>. Mr. Conroy introduced the topic (which was briefly mentioned at the Council Board meeting in December). There does not seem to be any clear purpose of having the Executive Committee make a recommendation on approving the annual budget to the full council every December. This has been the only agenda item at these December Executive Board meetings. After minimal discussion, the board asked Mr. Conroy to draft an amendment to the Bylaws for consideration at the next Council Board meeting.

H. Director's report:

Mr. Conroy noted that the legislative priority project list that the board approved at its December meeting had been passed on to the region's state legislative delegation and to WCOG's lobbyists Tom McBride and Intisar Benge.

Subsequent discussions that Mr. Conroy has had with members of the delegation have not been hopeful as to prospects for new transportation funding. There are slightly greater prospects for items to be funded from revenues coming from the Climate Commitment Act if the projects are climate-action related.

I. Adjourn

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:23 p.m.

Greg Hansen Secretary-Treasurer	Hugh Conroy Director
Scheduled for approval on May 14, 2025	