DRAFT Whatcom Council of Governments Board Minutes January 17, 2024

In Attendance (In person or via Zoom):

Members *Voting:* **Bellingham:** Kim Lund; **Blaine:** Richard May; **Everson**, John Perry;

Ferndale: Greg Hansen (Secretary/Treasurer); Lake Whatcom Water & Sewer District: Jeff Knakal; Lynden: Scott Korthuis (Chair); Lummi Nation: Jim Washington; Whatcom County: Satpal Sidhu, Kaylee Galoway, Jon Scanlon;

Sumas: Bruce Bosch. *Ex Officio:* None

Guests Kirk Vinish, Lummi Nation; Les Reardanz, Whatcom Transportation Authority

Staff Ron Cubellis, Hugh Conroy, Jaymes McClain, Lethal Coe, Melissa Fanucci

A. Call to Order

Mr. Conroy determined that a quorum was present, and Chairman Korthuis called the meeting to order at 3:35 p.m.

B. Public Comment

None

C. Agenda Additions

None

D. Consent Agenda

The consent agenda included the minutes of the meeting of December 13, 2023 and December 2023 claims.

Mr. May moved to approve, seconded by Mr. Hansen - **Approved by unanimous consent.**

E. **Budget Report**

Mr Cubellis reported on the WCOG budget period ending December, 2023.

F. Public Hearing – WCOG Title VI Plan

Melissa Fanucci presented the final draft of WCOG's updated Title VI Plan. Discussion with members covered changes since the plan was last submitted several months ago. The public hearing was opened and closed (no members of public present).

Motion: Mr. Sidhu motioned to adopt the Title VI plan as presented seconded by Mr. May. **Motioned passed** with no opposing votes.

Resolution: Mr. Korthuis called for a vote on the corresponding resolution confirming the above adoption of the Title VI Plan. **Vote passed** with no opposing votes.

F. **Old Business**

None

G. New Business

1. Appointment of three (3) small cities' representatives to the Executive Committee

Chair Korthuis entertained a motion to appoint Kevin Hester (Mayor of Nooksack), Greg Hansen (Mayor of Ferndale) and Scott Kortuis (Mayor of Lynden) as the three small cities' representatives on the Executive Committee.

Motion: Ms. Lund moved, seconded by Mr. May. **Motion passed** with no opposing votes.

2. Election of Chair, Vice Chair, & Secretary Treasurer

Mr. Korthuis enterntained a motion to appoint Scott Korthuis as Chair, Michael Lilliquist as Vice Chair, and Greg Hansen as Secretary/Treasurer.

Motion: Mr. May moved seconded by Mr. Sidhu. **Motion passed** with no opposing votes.

3. Adoption of updated Public Participation Plan

Melissa Fanucci presented the updated draft Public Participation Plan and reasons for the update and specific items that have changed from the current Public Participation Plan. Mr. Sidhu asked how we plan to be more effective with engaging the public. Ms. Fanucci reviewed the strategies in the plan, specifically increased efforts to collaborate with partner agencies: human services organizations, community based organizations, etc. Mr. Conroy added that this year's efforts to complete the regional Safety Action Plan is funded by USDOT at a level that should allow WCOG to conduct these more robust public-engagement efforts.

Motion: Ms. Lund moved, seconded by Mr. Williams, to adopt the updated Public Participation Plan as presented. **Motion passed** with no opposing votes.

4. Consideration of adoption of WCOG's 2024 Cost Allocation Plan.

Mr. Cubellis presented the draft 2024 Cost Allocation Plan.

Mr. Sidhu, asked, related to the nature of WCOG's activities and funding that shape the requirements of the cost allocation plan, if there were materials that could be shared with this year's new WCOG Board members that would provide helpful back ground and context about WCOG's duties and activities. Mr. Conroy discussed the new-member information document that will be sent very shortly. Mr. Conroy also discussed plans to have a new-member (all member) workshop to review WCOG organizational structure, responsibilities, and work activities. This will be done on March 13 (during a two-hour period) before the WCOG Transportation Policy Board meeting that day.

Motion: Mr. Williams moved to approve the 2024 Cost Allocation Plan as presented seconded by Mr. Hansen. **Motion passed** with no opposing votes.

I. Director's Report

Mr. Conroy reported that the 2024 priority project list approved by the Board at its last meeting has been provided to McBride Public Affairs (Tom McBride) for sharing with our legislative delegation and others as appropriate. Mr. Conroy also noted that he will be sharing it directly with our delegation. Mr. Conroy noted that based on earlier discussion with Tom McBride and Intisar Surur, there is a lot of concern over the overall funding gap for already-approved transportation projects in Washington State which doesn't bode well for new-project funding opportunities in this session. But we will still make sure the current regional priorities are well know – both in case an unexpected opportunity arises and so that nothing is considered a "new request" in the next legislative session.

J. Correspondence

DRAFT Council Board Meeting January 17, 2024 Page 3		
	None	
K.	Board Open Forum None	
L.	Adjourn There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:35 p.m.	
Greg Hansen Secretary-Treasurer		Hugh Conroy Director
Sche	eduled for approval on May 8, 2024	