Resolution of Whatcom Region Elected Executives

Supporting a Regional Safety Action Plan towards Achieving Zero Roadway Fatalities & Serious Injuries

Whereas the Whatcom County region, like the State of Washington and the United States as a whole, continues to experience high and growing numbers of fatalities and serious injuries on its roads, and

Whereas we will not accept traffic deaths as inevitable. They are unacceptable and preventable, and

Whereas the Whatcom Council of Governments has already affirmed the alignment of our region's transportation investment policies with the

State of Washington's Highway Safety Improvement Program goal – Target Zero (zero traffic fatalities by 2030),

Therefore, it is resolved that the undersigned Whatcom-region elected executives endorse the development of a Safety Action Plan, supported by the United States Department of Transportation's Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) program.

The Whatcom Safety Action Plan will identify prioritized strategies to significantly reduce fatal and serious-injury crashes on our roads. Development of the action plan will be guided by the USDOT's National Roadway Safety Strategy; be informed by regional, state, and national crash data; and select safety improvement strategies (interventions and countermeasures) informed by robust public engagement that emphasizes involvement of historically underrepresented and underserved members of our community.

Seth Fleetwood Mayor, City of Bellingham Mary Lou Steward Mayor, City of Blaine

Greg Hansen Mayor City of Ferndale

Scott Korthuis, Mayor, City of Lynden Satpal Sidhu

Executive, Whatcom County

RoseMary LaClair Chair, Nooksack Tribal Council

745 people died in 2022 on

Washington's roads, the

most since 1990. 17 of these fatalities occurred in

Whatcom County -

exceeding the current 10-

year annual average of 15.

John Perry Mayor, City of Everson Michael Shepard

President, Bellingham Port Commission

Kevin Hester

Mayor, City of Nooksack

Mayor, City of Sumas